What are levels of government?

June 29th, 2015

A brief explanation about the different levels of government in the UK.

A video explaining the levels of government in the UK
Credit: Tatton Spiller

In the UK, there are four main levels of government:

EU National Government (and Parliament) County Councils Local Councils

Each deal with different things. You can normally work out who deals with something because it effects people in that area. Take transport, for example: local councils deal with buses, county with roads, national with railways, and the EU creates regulations about air travel.

If you are still not sure who deals with what – and it can be especially confusing at local / county level – check their websites to find out what they say they deal with.

Finally - don’t forget to speak to the right person. Your MP has very little to do with bin collections!

Recent Articles